Archive from the weeks of June 3-22

Compiled by Julie Pravecek

Taken from the weeks of June 3 – 22.

10 years ago 2006

FORT DODGE – Webster County parishes celebrate 150 years of faith.

MADRID – Two parishioners from Madrid St. Malachy Church, Lexi Romitti, age 10, and Becca Loew, age 9, each cut 10 inches of their hair and donated it to Locks of Love, a non-profit organization that provides hairpieces to financially disadvantage children 18 years and younger suffering from long-term medical hair loss.

SIOUX CITY – Trinity Heights to host Patriotic Rosary on July 4.

25 years ago 1991

SIOUX CITY – The public will be afforded a rare opportunity this month when the Discalced Carmelite Sisters of Sioux City will allow visitors behind the cloistered walls of their monastery.

Don Kunecke, permanent deacon, from Lake City, is the recipient of Community Hospice’s Volunteer of the Year Award.  This award is given for outstanding service and support for terminally-ill patients and their families.

St. John the Baptist Church in Bancroft will hold a centennial celebration June 21, 22 and 23, commemorating 100 years of Catholic faith in Bancroft.

50 years ago 1966

Bishop Joseph M. Mueller presided at ceremonies in Cathedral at 9 a.m.  The four deacons ordained to the priesthood are:  Rev. Mr. Edmund H. Tiedeman of Our Lady of Good Counsel Parish, Fonda; Rev. Mr. Cleo E. Seuntjens of St. Mary Parish, Danbury; Rev. Mr. John Thomas of Holy Name Parish, Rock Rapids, and Rev. Mr. Eugene Walding of St. Joseph Parish, Sioux City.

Fifty-two seniors were honored at graduation exercises held at Granville Spalding High School, May 29.  Father Dale George, Spalding superintendent, presented the diplomas to the graduates.

Father Eugene T. Schumacher, pastor of St. Joseph’s, Struble and St. Mary’s, Maurice, celebrated his 10th anniversary to the priesthood on May 2.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>