Compiled by Julie Pravacek

This Globe Chronicles is taken from archives of the weeks May 10-24.

10 years ago – 2008

SIOUX CITY – Caroline Ascherl from Spalding Catholic smiled as she said it was “really cool and a lot of fun” to celebrate the Fifth Grade Mass at the Cathedral.

FORT DODGE – It was a record setting evening for the silver anniversary of the Friends of St. Edmond Ball, as the annual event sent $255,000 in net proceeds home to the Catholic school system.

25 years ago – 1993

SIOUX CITY – Father Marvin Boes, administrator of St. Casimir Church in Sioux City, has been recognized for his outstanding efforts in helping promote justice at an awards ceremony at the Hotel Fort Des Moines recently. Father Boes was presented an Excellence in Service Award by the Legal Services Corporation of Iowa.

ROME – This year marks the 75th anniversary of Mary’s six apparitions at Fatima, the rural site in central Portugal named by Arabs, who controlled the region for centuries.

50 years ago – 1963

GRANVILLE – Granville Spalding took advantage of Leeds errors and wildness on the part on Ken Bowman to post a 7-2 baseball win. Spalding scored in the first four innings and also got stout pitching from Heying, who spaced two Leeds hits.

CARROLL – Four Boy Scouts and two adult leaders were honored at the 18th Sioux City Diocesan CYO Award Day at Kuemper High School. The four boys, all belonging to Troop 232, sponsored by St. Joseph Parish, Sioux City, received the Ad Altare Dei cross. They are Neil E. Duffy, James P. Hendricks, Mark F. Wetz and Todd C. Widhalm.

70 years ago – Dec. 25., 1949

AYRSHIRE – Sacred Heart school has formed two clubs to sponsor a contest for the ransom of pagan babies. Betty Baxter heads the one group called the “Fighters of the Sacred Heart.” Robert Farrell is captain of the other club called “The Queen’s Workers.” The pupils of the first four grades of Sacred Heart school collected $18.88 from the sale of Holy Childhood seals.

REMSEN – Newly-received freshman sodalists have formed a new committee, called the Mission Committee. Chairman is Mary Ann Nacke; vice-chairman, LaVonne Holton; secretary and treasurer, Mary Ann Roling. There are four study clubs in the mission committee, headed by Richard Roder, Delia Frank, Marlene Alesch and Richard Mayrose.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>