Globe Chronicles – Archives from the weeks of April 16 to 30

Compiled by Julie Pravecek.

Taken from Globe archives of April 16 to 30.

10 years ago 2008

LE MARS – During the April 9 Easter liturgy at St. Joseph Parish in Le Mars, Father Kevin Richter, president of Gehlen Catholic School, was greeted with a standing ovation when he was presented, much to his surprise, with the Boss of the Quarter Award by Kathy McCrary and Jayne Maguire of the Le Mars Chamber of Commerce.

WEST BEND – For more than 50 years in the Diocese of Sioux City, the Council of Catholic Women has supported, empowered and educated Catholic women in spirituality, leadership and service. Donna Sanders, NCCW vice president for Region I, a special guest at the recent DCCW convention, addressed the women of the diocese.

25 years ago 1993

SIOUX CITY – A thirty-foot, stainless-steel sculpture of our Blessed Mother, titled Immaculate Heart of Mary, Queen of Peace, will be dedicated on June 13, at 2 p.m., on the Solemnity of Corpus Christi at Trinity Heights in Sioux City.

CARROLL – Emily Flanagan, an eighth-grader at St. Lawrence School in Carroll, has been selected to perform in the All-Iowa Middle School Honor Band. Flanagan, who plays the bass clarinet, was one of 14 students selected out of the 380 at the Northwest Iowa District in Storm Lake last October.

50 years ago 1968

SIOUX CITY – Catholic Charities of the Diocese of Sioux City announces the opening of a new group home for adolescent boys. The new program is the third part of the over-all Villa Maria services to children offered by Catholic Charities.

CARROLL – Vern Henkenius, a graduate of Kuemper High School in 1961, has been named as head basketball coach, to succeed Dick Wiedenfeld, who recently resigned, it was announced by Steve Garbier, athletic director.

70 years ago – Dec. 11, 1949

MOUNT CARMEL – On Dec. 8, eighteen young girls were received into the sodality during the 8 o’clock High Mass. The Rev. P. F. Sturm officiated.

SALIX – Cheerleaders for St. Joseph School for the coming year are: Susan Hubert, Lois Brouillette, Faye Ann Barrett and Jean Ann Lamoureux. The girls and boys basketball teams received Communion in a body on Dec. 8.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>